Management Team

Daniella Russo
Chief Executive Officer


Destin Layne 
Chief Operating Officer

Daniella Dimitrova Russo's blended executive experience in high-tech, from startups to Fortune 500 businesses, and NGOs has helped elevate plastic pollution to the forefront of global, social, environmental, and political discourse. 


She is launching the Think Beyond Plastic™ Accelerator to address plastic pollution as an innovation challenge that leverages the growing consumer and business demand for safe alternatives to conventional plastics. Ms. Russo is pioneering a global strategy focused on viable solutions that enable sustainability, corporate responsibility and financial growth through market and policy instruments. 

Destin Layne is an innovation strategist and one of the US foremost executives successfully bridging the fields of sustainability, technology and industry. With over fifteen years of experience leading philanthropic, political, and education initiatives, Ms. Layne has helped hundreds of companies, funders and organizations to amplify and expand their mission-driven impact.


In addition to tenures with the Secretary of Health and Human Services Tommy Thompson, Virgin Records and GRACE Foundation, Ms. Layne established early leadership in the food and tech space by hosting high-visibility initiatives and creating the first food hackathons, innovation dinners and executive trainings focused on disruptive change.

Greg Baxter headshot (2).png

Gregory Baxter, Ph.D
Chief Technology Officer


Shelley Goldberg
Chief Investment Officer 


Dr. Baxter works at the intersection of innovation and biotechnology, and brings a wealth of expertise in biochemistry, nanotechnology and entrepreneurship. He is a published author and holds over 20 patents on various aspects of molecular biology and biochemistry. He serves on the Board of Stellar BioTechnologies, the world leader in immune-stimulating proteins and is a Board Advisor to CertiChem, Inc. the experts in detecting endocrine activity in consumer products.

Dr. Baxter is a long-time mentor and member of the Founders Board of Advisors at StartX Stanford Student Startup Accelerator and was a Fellow with the Innovation Accelerator, a public-private partnership with NSF to facilitate the commercialization efforts of small businesses.

Dr. Baxter was a Program Director with the Division of Industrial Innovation and Partnerships at NSF. He was the founder and CSO of Hurel Corporation, a biotechnology company. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Cornell University and was a Senior Scientist at the Cornell Nanoscale Science and Technology Facility.

Shelley Goldberg is a global commodities and investment strategist.

She brings over twenty years of sector experience in energy, metals and mining, agriculture and infrastructure. She possesses a deep knowledge of commodity investments, portfolio and hedge fund management, along with expertise in physical and financial trading, hedging and asset allocation. Shelley has served as the energy hedge fund Managing Member and Portfolio Manager of G3 Capital Partners LLC, and as a Commodity Strategist for Brevan Howard Asset Management LLP, a $42 billion macro hedge fund, and for Roubini Global Economics. 

She is currently channeling sector specific knowledge toward leadership roles in impact investing with the goal of monetizing developments in environmental sustainability, including energy efficiency, water resources, precision agriculture, recycling and renewables both on a global and regional front. Shelley received her MBA from the New York University Stern School of Business and her BA from Tufts University. 


Pam Marcus, P.T.
Sr. Director, Consumer Products

Pam is a serial entrepreneur. She is the founder of Lifefactory, a market leader providing reusable glass bottles with protective silicone sleeves for the entire family. She is the founder and CEO of her next company, The Cookie Department.


Since 2012, she has been the Entrepreneur Mentor for Think Beyond Plastic contest for entrepreneurs with businesses addressing the problem of plastic pollution.


Pam Marcus has a passion for keeping toxic chemicals out of people’s bodies. She is an advocate for health and environmental issues, and an outspoken critic of the health issues with plastic. She began her career as a pediatric physical therapist working with handicapped children and babies. As a feeding therapist in the neonatal nursery she became concerned when she learned about the dangers of plastic and saw excessive plastic waste in the hospital. Her area of expertise is health and entrepreneurship. Pam is passionate about mentoring the new generation of eco-entrepreneurs.